“Testing the greens before play“
Question and Answer
Larry Jensen asks: After you play out on a hole is it permissible to practice putting on the green you just finished providing you don’t delay play?
Yes. Between the play of two holes, a player must not make a practice stroke, except that he may practice putting or chipping on or near;
The last putting green played.
Any practice putting green.
The teeing ground of the next hole to be played in the round, provided a practice stroke
is not made from a hazard and does not unduly delay play.
Larry also asked; If you are waiting to tee off on your starting hole or any hole where play is delayed, can you practice chipping as long as you do not chip toward a green you have not played?
Yes. This is covered in rule 7-1b.
Thank you Larry for your questions. We always welcome questions regarding any of the rules we post on the website.